Major Turnover Ahead for City Council

The Baltimore City Council will see a majority of its seats in new hands after the primary results Tuesday. Council President Bernard “Jack” Young won his primary contest and will be favored to return to his leadership role, but at least 8 of the other 14 Council seats will be in new hands.

From Baltimore Sun coverage:

Veteran lawmakers Robert Curran, Helen L. Holton and Rochelle “Rikki” Spector are retiring. Councilmen Carl Stokes and Nick J. Mosby launched bids for mayor, and Councilman James B. Kraft pursued a Circuit Court judgeship.

Incumbents William “Pete” Welch and Warren M. Branch lost to challengers in Tuesday’s Democratic primary. Councilmen Edward Reisinger, Eric T. Costello and Bill Henry held off serious primary challenges.

Incumbents Mary Pat Clarke, Sharon Green Middleton and Brandon M. Scott coasted to easy victories.

Also, for the first time in recent memory, a vibrant GOP campaign was playing out in Southeast Baltimore’s 1st District, a section of the city that includes Canton and Fells Point.

For details, see the Baltimore Sun‘s thorough coverage district-by-district.

Michael Sanderson

Executive Director Maryland Association of Counties