Proposals to Change Anne Arundel’s Stormwater Fee Defeated

Thursday night, April 6, the Anne Arundel County Council debated two bills that aimed to repeal collection of the stormwater fee. More than 50 members of the public testified and both bills failed with the votes 3-4.

According to the Capital Gazette,

Republican councilmen Derek Fink of Pasadena, Michael Peroutka of Millersville and Chairman Jerry Walker of Crofton voted in favor of the bills.

All have advocated for proposals to fund stormwater remediation projects from the general fund as opposed to a dedicated lockbox the council created in 2013.

Republican John Grasso of Glen Burnie and Democrats Andrew Pruski of Gambrills, Chris Trumbauer of Annapolis and Pete Smith of Severn, voted to defeat the measures. Smith was a key vote on the bill.

Riverkeepers, residents, property managers and environmental representatives implored the council to defeat two bills that aimed to stop the county from collecting more than $20 million in stormwater fees per year.

Bill 16-15, sponsored by request of Republican County Executive Steve Schuh, along with Walker and Peroutka would have phased out collecting more than $20 million in fees over three years starting in fiscal 2017.

Bill 17-15, sponsored by Fink, Peroutka and Walker aimed to repeal collecting all fees at once starting in fiscal 2016. The council was debating amendments on both bills as the meeting stretched into its fourth hour.

Visit the Capital Gazette online to read the full article.

Close Menu
%d bloggers like this: