Anne Arundel To Consider Stormwater Fee Phase-Out

Both County Executive Steve Schuh and Council President Jerry Walker have pledged to pursue legislation before the Anne Arundel County Council to eliminate the county’s stormwater fee.

From coverage in the Capital, quoting a statement from Schuh:

The proposed legislation will responsibly phase out the stormwater fee through a 33% reduction in fiscal year 2017, 33% reduction in fiscal year 2018, and complete repeal in fiscal year 2019. By 2020, the county will fully fund the current stormwater programs through others means, including the general fund.

The storm water management fee was established in 2013. Currently, Anne Arundel residents pay $34 per year for each town home, $85 for a single family residence. Non-residential stormwater fee charges are based on a property owner’s actual measured impervious surface area for individual parcels of land.

Read the full article online.

Michael Sanderson

Executive Director Maryland Association of Counties