Zirkin Heads Senate Leadership Changes

Senator Bobby Zirkin, courtesy of Maryland State Archives
In the wake of the November elections, and anticipating the start of a new term, Senate President Thomas V. Mike Miller announced a series of leadership changes to the Senate Committees and party roles. Most notable is the selection of Senator Bobby Zirkin to chair the Judicial Proceedings Committee, a position vacated by now Attorney General-elect Brian Frosh.

Two more noteworthy changes include Senator Jamie Raskin assuming the Chair of the Executive Nominations Committee, and Senator Paul Pinsky to become Vice Chair of the Committee on Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs.

From coverage in the Baltimore Sun:

Other appointments:

Sen. Richard S. Madaleno Jr. of Montgomery County will become vice chairman of the Budget & Taxation Committee.
Baltimore Sen. Catherine Pugh will become majority leader. Sen. Katherine Klausmeier of Baltimore County will be her deputy.
Sen. James “Ed” DeGrange of Anne Arundel County will move from vice chairman of Executive Nominations to vice chairman of the Rules Committee.
Sen. Nancy J. King of Montgomery County will chair the Budget & Taxation subcommittee on education, business and administration.
Sen. Douglas J. J. Peters will chair the Democratic caucus and head the Budget & Taxation pensions subcommittee.

Read the full Sun article online.

Michael Sanderson

Executive Director Maryland Association of Counties