Deadline Extended for MACo Best Practices and Public Service Awards

MACo President and Talbot County Council Member, Tom Duncan, on behalf of MACo’s Board of Directors, invites county elected officials and staff to submit nominations for MACo’s Marilyn J. Praisner Public Service Award and the MACo President’s Healthy Counties Best Practices Award. The deadline to submit award nominations is now October 28, 2014.

Both awards are designed to recognize excellence in county government. The MACo President’s Healthy Counties Best Practices Award celebrates best practices in county programming contributing to the overall economic and service-delivery health of a county. The Marilyn J. Praisner Public Service Award was established in memory of MACo Past President and former Montgomery County Council Member, Marilyn J. Praisner. This distinct honor recognizes a current or former county elected official for exemplary service to the county, his or her constituents, and MACo.

Award nomination letters should be submitted to MACo, Attention Virginia White, no later than October 28, 2014. Please follow the nomination instructions carefully:

Award winners will be celebrated at MACo’s Winter Conference Inaugural Banquet & Awards Ceremony on Thursday, January 8, 2015 in the company of approximately 400 county elected officials and staff, legislators, State and Federal officials, and traditionally the Governor.

If you have questions about either of these awards, please contact MACo’s Meetings & Events Director, Virginia White.