McKay Wins Western MD Delegate Primary

Allegany County Commissioner Michael W. McKay wins the Republican primary race for Maryland House of Delegates District 1C. McKay defeated challenger Ray Givens by winning 56.1% of the vote.

McKay, who is currently president of the Allegany Board of Commissioners, has served on the commission since 2010. He is also president of the Maryland Rural Counties Coalition and is a Fellow in the Maryland Association of Counties’ Academy for Excellence in Local Government.

Allegany Commissioner Michael McKay, Courtesy of Allegany County
Allegany Commissioner Michael McKay, Courtesy of Allegany County

McKay is vying for the seat left by Delegate LeRoy E. Myers, Jr. who is retiring after serving three terms in the general assembly. Delegate Myers has endorsed McKay, who will face Cumberland City Councilman and Democrat Nick Scarpelli in the general elections. Both McKay and Scarpelli reside in the City of Cumberland in Allegany County.

District 1C covers parts of Allegany County and Washington County. According to election records, the majority of voters in 1C are republican
(11,581 republicans compared to 8,584 democrats) and a slight majority of voters (12,788) live in Allegany County compared to Washington County (11,959).