Senator Jim Robey Honored for Public Service by MACo & Maryland Senate

Roeby receives MACo award
Senators King and Madaleno join MACo representatives in presenting Praisner Public Service Award and Senate Resolution to Senator Robey

On behalf of MACo, the Maryland Senate issued a resolution yesterday praising Senator Jim Robey for his dedication to the people of Maryland and awarding him MACo’s Marilyn J. Praisner Public Service Award.

The late Marilyn Praisner served on the Montgomery County Council and School Board; she also served as MACo President. Praisner was a champion for children’s issues and worked diligently on behalf of her county and the state of Maryland. The Praisner Public Service Award reflects the outstanding commitment shown by elected officials in their service to local government, their constituents, and the state of Maryland.

MACo’s membership chose Senator Robey for this award because he has had a longstanding career in public service: rising from “beat cop” with Howard County Police Department, to Chief of Police, to Howard County Executive, to Maryland State Senator.

Throughout his career, Senator Robey has continued to advocate on behalf of counties in the General Assembly by sponsoring legislation and looking out for county interests in the budget. Senator Robey represents District 13 (Howard County), and serves as the Senate Majority Leader and as a member of the Senate Budget & Taxation Committee.

Senator Robey has announced that he plans to retire from the Senate at the end of this term. He has been a great friend and mentor to many, and will be sorely missed in Annapolis. MACo was honored to present Senator Robey with our Marilyn J. Praisner Public Service Award.

Senator Nancy King introduced the Praisner Award yesterday in the Senate and requested the reading of the resolution for Senator Robey. The Senate unanimously approved the resolution, with a 40-0 vote. Senate President Thomas V. Mike Miller praised Senator Robey as “a great public servant.”

Senators Nancy King and Rich Madaleno, who supported the resolution, joined MACo representatives in presenting the award and the resolution to Senator Robey. Representatives from MACo included: Tom Duncan, MACo President and Talbot County Council Member; John Barr, MACo 1st Vice President and Washington County Commissioner; Jen Terrasa, Howard County Council Member; and Michael Sanderson, MACo Executive Director.

You can read more about Senator Robey and his distinguished career on the Maryland Senate website.