New Set of Officers Among County Council Members & Commissioners

  • Post author:
  • Post category:County News

Across the state several counties recently transferred responsibilities to a new set of officers, and a few still have upcoming elections.

  • In Caroline County, Commissioner Jefferson Ghrist becomes President of the Commission, while Commissioner Larry Porter assumes the Vice-President post.
  • In Carroll County, Commissioner David Roush is the new Board President, Commissioner Richard Rothschild is the new Vice President and Commissioner Robin Frazier is the Secretary.
  • In Howard County, Council Member Calvin Ball is Chairperson & Council Member Courtney Watson is the Vice Chairperson.
  • In Montgomery County, Council Member Craig Rice was elected Council President and Council Member George Leventhal was selected as Vice President.
  • In Prince George’s County, Council Member Mel Franklin was elected Council Chair and William A. Campos assumes the role of the Council’s Vice Chair.
  • In Wicomico County, Council President Matt Holloway will continue another term, while John Hall assumes the role of Vice President.

Elections still pending are in the following counties: Calvert County, Dorchester County, Garrett County, Queen Anne’s County, St. Mary’s County & Talbot County.

The following chart shows the terms of officers for each county and their next officer election.

Jurisdiction Term of Officers Next Change
Allegany 4 years 2014
Anne Arundel 1 year 2014
Baltimore City 4 years 2014
Baltimore County 1 year 2014
Calvert 1 year 2014
Caroline 1 year 2014
Carroll 1 year 2014
Cecil 2 years 2014
Charles 4 years 2014
Dorchester 1 year 2014
Frederick 4 years 2014
Garrett 1 year 2014
Harford 4 years 2014
Howard 1 year 2014
Kent 4 years 2014
Montgomery 1 year 2014
Prince George’s 1 year 2014
Queen Anne’s 1 year 2014
St. Mary’s 1 year (VP) 2014
Somerset 4 years 2014
Talbot 1 year 2013 (Dec. 10)
Washington 4 years 2014
Wicomico 1 year 2014
Worcester 2 years (VP) 2014