Sustainable Growth Commission Hosts Smart Growth Awards Ceremony

The Maryland Sustainable Growth Commission held its first annual Forum and Awards Ceremony in Annapolis on February 5 to honor 7 people, projects, or programs that exemplify Smart Growth and sustainability.  From the Maryland Department of Planning (MDP) press release:

“The intent of these awards is to help shed light on some of the exemplary work going on in Maryland to focus new growth in existing communities, to preserve sustainable places and to conserve Maryland’s rural and natural resource lands,” said Growth Commission Chairman Jon M. Laria. “I am thrilled by the quality of nominees that were put forward for the awards.”  …

 Awards were presented for (1) leadership and service and (2) smart growth communities for public and private-sector projects or activities that improve the economy, environment or the quality of life.

This year’s award winners included:

  • Karen Lewand, for her work in architecture and the built environment
  • Eastern Shore Land Conservancy:  Center for Strong Towns Program
  •  Tom Liebel, for his work on linking historic preservation and Smart Growth
  • White Flint Sector Plan
  • Downtown Columbia Plan
  • Preston Place Project
  • Union Mill – Seawall Development Company

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.