Charles County Planing Tiers In Development

On the Southern Maryland Newspapers Online website, an article details the steps taken by the Charles County Planing Commission to assemble and approve their tier designations — a procedure envisioned by 2012 state legislation designed to limit development on septic systems.

Charles County Initial Tier Map, September 2012
(picture courtesy of SoMdNewsOnline)

From the article:

The tiers do not have a specific zoning density designations, but in tier four, only minor subdivisions five homes or fewer are permitted.

As part of the Sustainable Growth and Agricultural Preservation Act, passed by Maryland’s General Assembly earlier this year, participating counties are required to draw tiers depicting areas where sewer and septic systems are not permitted.

Planning staff presented a recommended tier map to the commission members Monday.

Michael Sanderson

Executive Director Maryland Association of Counties

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Close Menu
%d bloggers like this: