Maryland Department of Housing & Community Development Launches “Be SMART” Program

The Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development has announced the launch of the Be SMART (Save Money and Resources Today) initiative.  The program, funded through a $20 million grant from the U.S. Department of Energy,  provides loans to finance energy efficiency improvements to homes, businesses and multifamily buildings in more than a dozen targeted communities around the state.

“We anticipate that this effort will make a significant impact at reducing electricity demands and greenhouse gas emissions in Maryland,” said Secretary Skinner. “By collaborating with contractors and reaching out to more than a dozen towns all over the state, we hope to create a model for energy efficiency improvements that can be emulated by other communities across the country.”

The department will work with local partners and contractors in marketing Be SMART as well as identifying properties and small businesses in 15 targeted communities:

Berlin (Worcester County)
Cambridge (Dorchester County)
Chestertown (Kent County)
Cumberland (Allegany County)
Denton (Caroline County)
Easton (Talbot County)
Elkton (Cecil County)
Frostburg (Allegany County)
Oakland (Garrett County)
Princess Anne (Somerset County)
Dundalk (Baltimore County)
Westminster (Carroll County)
Havre de Grace (Harford County)
Salisbury (Wicomico County)
Takoma Park (Montgomery County)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.