MACo to See Turnover in Its Leadership

  • Post author:
  • Post category:Elections
  • Post comments:1 Comment

The primary election, term limits, and decisions to run for other offices or not run at all, has created significant turnover in MACo’s Board of Directors and Officers.   Of the five members of its Executive Committee, three positions will change hands in January 2011. Allegany County Commissioner Bob Hutcheson, currently serving as MACo’s First Vice President, was defeated in yesterday’s primary. Commissioner Hutcheson has served as Commissioner since 2000, and on the MACo Board of Directors since 2007.

Anne Arundel County Council Member Cathy Vitale, currently serving as MACo’s Second Vice President, ran a successful race in the primary for the House of Delegates in District 33A.  Council Member Vitale, who is term limited, is completing her second term as a council member and has served on the MACo Board of Directors since 2007.

Harford County Executive David Craig, MACo’s current President, won his primary election, but will transition to Immediate Past President in January 2011.

Of the remaining eleven Board members,  five seats will transition.  Two members, Baltimore County Executive Jim Smith and St. Mary’s County Commissioner Tom Mattingly were not able to seek re-election due to term limits.  Frederick County Commission President Jan Gardner decided not to seek re-election; and two other members, Garrett County Commissioner Fred Holliday and Charles County Commissioner Edith Patterson, were defeated in their primary election bids.

County Executive Smith and Frederick County Commission President Gardner have both served as Presidents of MACo.  Commissioner Holliday has served on the MACo Board of Directors since 2003 and Commissioner Mattingly has served since 2007.  Commission Patterson was elected to the Board at the 2010 MACo Summer Conference.

This Post Has One Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.