2022 Black History Month Leadership & Service Awards Announced

The Governor’s Office on Service and Volunteerism (GOSV) announced the eight recipients, from across Maryland’s counties, of the 5th Annual Black History Month Leadership and Service Awards at the Banneker-Douglass Museum.

2022 Award Recipients

The awards ceremony recognizes Maryland-based, African American (or of the African diaspora) individuals or organizations that are founded upon and exemplify exceptional service to Maryland communities.

“The Black History Month Leadership & Service Awards honors individuals and organizations who embody the spirit of community in Maryland,” said Governor Larry Hogan. “We are so grateful for the incredible people who step up with their own time and resources to help others” (GOSV press release).

The eight honorees have made great contributions to Maryland, including inspiring a new generation of entrepreneurs, giving children the opportunity to read through book donations, and building upon generations of living history through teaching and art.

“This year, as we look back at the life of Harriet Tubman 200 years after her birth, we can recognize that she forged a path to freedom, not only for enslaved individuals during her time, but for the generations that came after,” said Lt. Governor Boyd Rutherford. “The Black History Month Leadership and Service Awards highlight the gifted individuals and groups that are building upon her courage and promises of the American Dream, while leaving a legacy of their own. We applaud them for their dedication to serving others, and impacting their communities in a positive way” (GOSV press release).

According to a GOSV press release, the 2022 award recipients include:

Luke Cooper (Baltimore City)

Nicole Y. Drew (Montgomery)

Food 4 Thought Community Outreach Services, Inc. (Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Baltimore City)

Four Generations of Copperville’s Moaney-Henry Women (Talbot, Wicomico)

Shawnise G. Smith (Baltimore, Baltimore City, Howard)

Angela H. Spencer (Frederick)

Carolyn V. Sterling (Washington)

Victims’ Rights Foundation (Baltimore City, Frederick, Montgomery, Prince George’s)

Learn more about each award recipient.