Speaker Jones Announces New Leadership Positions

House Speaker Adrienne A. Jones today announced new leadership appointments effective November 15, 2021.

Speaker Jones made the following appointments:

  • Ways and Means Chair: Vanessa Atterbeary
  • Economic Matters Vice Chair: Brian Crosby
  • Judiciary Vice Chair: David Moon
  • Joint Committee on Legislative Ethics House Chair: J. Sandy Bartlett
  • Property & Casualty Insurance Subcommittee Chair (ECM): Ned Carey
  • Unemployment Insurance Subcommittee Chair (ECM): Lorig Charkoudian
  • Public Safety and Administration Subcommittee Chair (APP): Tony Bridges

“Delegate Atterbeary has proven herself to be a leader that can bring members together, forge consensus and create meaningful change. I’m confident she is the right person to lead the House Ways and Means Committee into the future,” said Speaker Jones. “Delegate Moon has been a champion for social justice and a force for change in the Judiciary Committee since arriving in Annapolis in 2015. He will hit the ground running as Vice Chair.”

“In just a short time in Annapolis, Brian Crosby has created coalitions and built relationships with entrepreneurs, labor leaders, and advocates across the ideological spectrum that will serve him well as the Vice Chair of Economic Matters,” continued Speaker Jones. “Overall, these appointments today reflect the growing diversity of the State and the House of Delegates.”

In addition, Speaker Jones appointed the following legislators to House standing committees:

  • Delegate Nick Charles – Ways & Means Committee
  • Delegate Anne Kaiser – Health & Government Operations Committee
  • Delegate Cheryl Landis – Health & Government Operations Committee
  • Delegate Rachel Muñoz – Ways & Means Committee
  • Delegate Roxane Prettyman – Environment & Transportation Committee
  • Delegate Haven Shoemaker – Judiciary Committee
  • Delegate Stephanie Smith – Appropriations Committee

Visit the Maryland General Assembly website for more information.