Prince George’s Council Elects Hawkins as Chair, Taveras as Vice-Chair

The Prince George’s County Council this week unanimously elected Council Member Calvin S. Hawkins, II to serve as Council Chair and Council Member Deni Taveras to serve as Council Vice-Chair for the coming year.

Chair Hawkins, upon accepting the Council’s Gavel of Leadership, noted the challenges and opportunities that lie ahead, while promising to lead with integrity, prudence, and clear purpose.

“Our country is facing extremely difficult times, and Prince George’s County is no exception. Even into the new year, COVID-19 remains the greatest challenge across our country and in Prince George’s County. Prince Georgians have lost loved ones. Additionally, COVID has claimed jobs, businesses, and our local economy must travel a long road back to return to where it once was. Yet, with each challenge comes the opportunity to be innovative and industrious as we work to meet the needs of the citizenry, and effectively address our post-pandemic reality.”

According to a County press release:

Chair Hawkins also addressed the importance of collaboration.

“We will continue to work collectively with residents; County Executive Alsobrooks; lawmakers in Annapolis; and all stakeholders committed to improving the quality of life for Prince Georgians to pass legislation that achieves the mission we have set. The Countywide Map Amendment, school construction, Kirwan, Health in All Policies, Ad Hoc Housing, the Adequate Public Facilities test, construction of a new detention facility – all these initiatives are calling for action.”

Prince George’s County Executive Angela Alsobrooks attended the virtual Gavel Exchange Ceremony, congratulating the new Leadership Team and thanking the Council for its work on behalf of Prince George’s County residents.

“I want to congratulate the incoming Chair and Vice-Chair.  As you take over, you are inheriting a strong legacy. I know that even though we will face many difficulties together, if we stand together, we will continue to be successful.  As we prepare for the 2021 new Legislative Session, we will continue to make those who sent us here, proud.”

Chair Hawkins, of Upper Marlboro, was elected to serve his first term on the Prince George’s County Council in the 2018 General Election, and served as Vice-Chair of the County Council for Legislative Year 2020. Vice-Chair Taveras, of Adelphi, was reelected in the November 2018 General Election, to serve a second four-year term as the Prince George’s County Council Member representing District 2.  She is the first Latina to serve as Council Vice-Chair.

Please visit for on-demand video of the Gavel Exchange Ceremony, or to access Gavel Exchange speeches.   The Gavel Exchange ceremony will also be cablecast on Prince George’s Community Television (CTV), Channel 42 (Verizon FIOS) and Channel 76, (Comcast).  For air dates and times, please visit or contact CTV at 301.773.0900.

Visit the Prince George’s County Council website for more information.