Calling All Champions – MACo Seeks Nominees for Public Service and County Innovation Awards

MACo’s County Champion Award series celebrates innovative county programs and county leaders who demonstrate extraordinary public service. Nominations are due December 4, 2020.

Every year, MACo – in partnership with the University of Maryland School of Public Policy and the Academy for Excellence in Local Governance – seeks to celebrate those county leaders and programs making exceptional contributions to Maryland counties. 2020 has been a year like no other, but as always, Maryland counties have risen to the challenge and we want to be sure to honor those who have gone above and beyond to help their fellow Marylanders during these difficult times.

Normally, these awards are made at MACo’s Winter Conference, but as that event has been cancelled due to the pandemic, MACo will announce award winners and make award presentations in person as circumstances allow.

Two award categories are offered – the Marilyn J. Praisner Public Service Award and the County Innovations Award.

The Marilyn J. Praisner Public Service Award was established to honor the legacy of former Montgomery County Council Member, Maryland Association of Counties (MACo) Past President, and beloved public servant Marilyn J. Praisner. The award recognizes those current or former elected county officials who have demonstrated outstanding service to a county, his or her constituents, and MACo.

The County Innovation Award was established to recognize superb and leading-edge county programs that improve overall quality-of-life and service delivery for a county’s residents. The Honorable Ingrid Turner, Prince George’s County Circuit Court Associate Judge, MACo Past President, and former Prince George’s County Council Member instituted this award during her term as MACo President in 2012. The award is now a collaboration of the University of Maryland School of Public Policy and MACo, with support from the Local Government Insurance Trust. This award will be given to 1 rural and 1 urban county.

Award nominations should be completed and submitted to the Academy for Excellence in Local Governance through the University of Maryland School of Public Policy no later than December 4, 2020. Details are included in the application links below.

Please note that nominations will ONLY be accepted through the online forms listed below. Please do not send paper, fax, or email nominations. Nominations are meant to be sent by individuals and need not be from the county government itself.

Please follow the nomination instructions carefully:

Contact Virginia White with questions.