Maryland Re-Added to Northeastern States’ COVID Quarantine List

Multiple Northeastern states have re-added Maryland to their “Quarantine List” or states where their residents must quarantine following any visits, citing troubling positive test numbers.

Maryland is one of four states recently re-added to the warning list maintained by New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut.

From WBNG (CBS affiliate, Binghamton):

Quarantine applies to any state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents or a state with a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a seven-day-rolling average.

Anyone traveling from these areas must quarantine for two weeks.

From NBC New York:

Sheriff deputies will begin stopping buses headed to Port Authority from viral U.S. hotspots as part of New York City’s continued effort to stem any travel-related upticks in virus cases, Mayor Bill de Blasio said Tuesday. They’ll give riders contact forms to fill out with their information and quarantine plans.

It’s the latest measure the mayor has introduced to help enforce the tri-state quarantine order, which requires travelers from U.S. places with high viral rates to self-isolate for 14 days upon entering New York, New Jersey and Connecticut. In recent weeks, de Blasio has authorized random vehicular checkpoints and ordered hotels to deny travelers room access if they refuse to fill out the form.

Michael Sanderson

Executive Director Maryland Association of Counties