Majority of Baltimore City Council Incumbents Appear Victorious

ballot box, box, pollWhile the results are not yet final, it appears that in nine of the fourteen districts incumbent council members will keep their seats.

In the race for Baltimore City Council President, state Delegate Nick Mosby is the presumed winner with 29,402 votes (39.5%). Council Members Shannon Sneed (District 13) and Leon F. Pinkett, III (District 7) also ran for this position. Current President Brandon M. Scott joined in the race for Mayor rather than seeking reelection in his current position.

While there was a reported error on ballots mailed in District 1, current data shows incumbent Council Member Zeke Cohen holds 70.5% of the in person votes, while vote by mail is currently reported as zero for both candidates. Other incumbent council members that appear to be victorious include Danielle McCray (District 2), Ryan Dorsey (District 3), Isaac “Yitzy” Schleifer (Distrct 5), Current MACo President Sharon Green Middleton (District 6), Kristerfer Burnett (District 8), John T. Bullock (District 9), Eric Costello (District 11), and Robert Stokes, Sr. (District 12).

Council Member Bill Henry successfully ran for Comptroller against incumbent Joan M. Pratt, leaving an open seat in District 4, in which Mark Conway seems victorious with 27% of the vote. After announcing his retirement, Council Member Edward Reisinger (District 10) endorsed presumed winner Phylicia Porter, who currently serves on the Democratic Central Committee for the 40th District. Similarly, retiring Council Member Mary Pat Clarke (District 14) endorsed presumed winner Odette Ramos.

Vote totals and percentages in this article are based on unofficial results of the Maryland State Board of Elections. Official results will follow. Due to COVID-19, few polling places were open and mail-in voting was strongly encouraged. Readers are advised that unofficial results are subject to realignment in the days ahead and official results will follow after a full accounting of pending ballots.