Frederick County, Municipal Leaders Take Unified Approach to Reopening Plan

Frederick County, Municipal Leaders unified in their approach to Maryland’s coronavirus recovery plan.

Frederick County Executive Jan Gardner and the mayors and burgesses of every municipality in the County have agreed to coordinate how and when to implement Phase One of Maryland’s COVID-19 recovery plan.

As previously reported on Conduit Street, Governor Hogan yesterday announced that effective Friday, May 15 at 5:00 PM, the stay-at-home order will be lifted and manufacturing, retail, worship services, and some personal services will be allowed to resume with limitations. Governor Hogan emphasized the importance of local control and decision making in moving forward with the first stage of Maryland’s coronavirus recovery plan.

County Executive Gardner will coordinate with the cities of Frederick and Brunswick, the towns of Burkittsville, Emmitsburg, Middletown, Mount Airy, Myersville, New Market, Thurmont, Walkersville, and Woodsboro, and the Village of Rosemont.

According to a press release:

The mayors, burgesses and County Executive will need time to evaluate the options and capability to thoughtfully and effectively implement whatever the Governor proposes at his 5 p.m. press conference today. There is agreement that local health data will guide decision-making.

The general public and local businesses should be aware that implementation of any proposed changes will not be immediate.

Further details will be announced at a later date.

Stay tuned to Conduit Street for more information.