Diversity Caucus Installs 2019 Board at #MACoCon

The Maryland County Officials Diversity Caucus (Diversity Caucus), a chapter organization of MACo, installed its 2019 Executive Board at the MACo Winter Conference.

Diversity Caucus WCJ19
From L to R: Mathies, Taveras, Green Middleton, Jones

The 2019 Maryland County Officials Diversity Caucus Board: President Craig Rice (Montgomery County Council Member), First Vice President Craig Mathies (Somerset County Commissioner), Treasurer Deni Taveras (Prince George’s County Council Member), Second Vice President Sharon Green Middleton (Baltimore City Council Member), and Secretary Opel Jones (Howard County Council Member).

The Diversity Caucus provides an organizational structure for county elected officials of minority descent to empower, represent, and respond to issues affecting the most vulnerable communities and constituencies; to promote legislation and policies beneficial to the people they represent; and to serve as a central point for information and participation within the Maryland Association of Counties.

The mission of the Diversity Caucus is to foster current and future leaders from within the community of elected officials of minority descent and in Maryland county government, and to provide resources and support for Diversity Caucus members and those who share its goals.

The MACo Winter Conference was held January 2-4, 2019 at the Hyatt in Cambridge, Maryland. This year’s theme was, “Charting the Course.”

Close Menu
%d bloggers like this: