Question: Did you know that Prince George’s County was named for Prince George of Denmark? It’s true! The County was named for Prince George of Denmark (1653-1708), brother of Christian V (1646-1699), king of Denmark and Norway. Prince George was the husband of Queen Anne (1665-1714), who ruled Great Britain and Ireland from 1702 to 1714.
Prince George’s County was created by the English Council of Maryland in the Province of Maryland in April 1696 from portions of Charles and Calvert counties. The county was divided into six districts referred to as “Hundreds”: Mattapany, Petuxant, Collington, Mount Calvert, Piscattoway and New Scotland.
The simple, yet distinctive Prince George’s County flag is a fascinating blend of history and heraldry dating back to the 11th century. Soon after the county’s founding, it was granted colors for horses and foot soldiers and a flag consisting of St. George’s Cross on a white field. The red cross of St. George has a long-standing tradition of its own as the symbol of Christian martyrdom since its first use during the great Crusades. The county seal in the flag’s upper left quadrant did not officially become part of the flag until 1963. At that time, a special committee suggested to the County government that the seal be added to “more definitely establish the colors as uniquely those of Prince George’s County.”
Prince George’s County’s seal was designed in 1696 by Charles Beckwith of Patuxent. The coat of arms in four quarters symbolizes Queen Anne, France and England in the first and fourth grand quarters; Scotland in the second grand quarter; and Ireland in the third. The banner below depicts the county motto, “Semper Eadem,” which means “Ever The Same.”