New Faces On the House Judiciary Committee

A Daily Record article (2017-01-13) discussed the challenges facing the House Judiciary Committee as it begins the 2017 Session 3 members down and with a host of new faces. From the article:

Since last term, the panel lost five delegates due to resignations from the legislature or transfers in committee assignments, while picking up a 22-year delegate and a rookie legislator.

“I have lost a lot of good players,” Del. Joseph F. Vallario Jr., who chairs the panel, said Friday. “It’s going to be a new committee. It’s going to be a new day.”

Gone from the House, and thus the committee, are William C. “Will” Smith Jr., Jill P. Carter and John W. E. Cluster Jr.

In addition, Dels. Samuel I. “Sandy” Rosenberg, D-Baltimore City, and Marice Morales, D-Montgomery, were transferred to the House Health and Government Operations Committee.

Joining the Judiciary Committee this session are Dels. Dan K. Morhaim, who entered the House in 1995, and Joseph C. “Joe” Cluster, son of the former delegate.

In all, the committee shrunk from 22 members in the 2016 General Assembly to 19 at the outset of the 2017 term. Vallario, D-Prince George’s said more delegates might be added soon but provided no specific number. …

The three departures from the committee and House occurred when Smith, D-Montgomery, was appointed by Hogan last month to the Senate seat that was held by Jamin B. “Jamie” Raskin, who resigned in November after being elected to the U.S. House of Representatives; Hogan named the elder Cluster, R-Baltimore County, to the Maryland Parole Commission last summer; and Baltimore Mayor Catherine E. Pugh named Carter, D-Baltimore City, director of the city’s Office of Civil Rights and Wage Enforcement.

The article also included comments from some of the Committee’s new members on how they were going to approach issues and participation for the 2017 Session.

Useful Links

Judiciary Committee Webpage

Close Menu
%d bloggers like this: