MACo Names New Sustainable Growth Commission Appointments

MACo has named Garrett County Planning and Land Management Director Deborah Carpenter and MACo Legal and Policy Counsel Les Knapp to serve as the two MACo representatives on the Maryland Sustainable Growth Commission.  They will be formally introduced at the Commission’s January 26 meeting.

Carpenter and Knapp will replace the previous MACo representatives – former Harford County Council Member Mary Ann Lisanti and former Talbot County Planning Director Ernest “Sandy”  Coyman.  Coyman retired in 2014 and Lisanti was successful in her 2014 election bid to become a Maryland Delegate.  Prior to her delegate election, Lisanti served as the vice chair of the Commission.

Carpenter has worked in various land use roles within Garrett County since 1995 and is an active member of the Maryland Association of County Planning Officials (MACo’s county planners affiliate).  She will bring both a historical knowledge and technical perspective to county land use issues before the Commission.  Knapp represents MACo on land use and environmental issues.  He regularly attends Commission meetings and has participated on many of the Commission’s workgroups.