Worcester County Commissioners Take Oath, Elect New President and Vice President

Image courtesy of the MD Coast Dispatch
Worcester County Commissioners, from left: Elder, Bertino, Lockfaw, Church, Purnell, Miltrecic, and President Bunting (Image courtesy of the MD Coast Dispatch)

The Worcester County Board of Commissioners took the oath of office on Tuesday December 2, 2014 for the 2014-2018 term. New board members include incumbents Merrill W. Lockfaw, Jr. of District 1; James C. “Bud” Church, representing District 3; and Madison J. Bunting, Jr. representing District 6. Newly elected board members include Diana Purnell of District 2; Theodore J. Elder of District 4; Anthony W. “Chip” Bertino, Jr. representing District 5; and Joseph M. Mitrecic representing District 7.

As their first official act, the Commissioners elected Commissioner Bunting as President and re-elected Commissioner Lockfaw as Vice President through December 2015.

From the Worcester County Press Release:

Commissioners Bunting and Lockfaw have served since being elected to office in 2010. As president, Commissioner Bunting will chair board meetings. Though he will neither make nor second motions, he retains his ability to vote on each of the issues reviewed by the board. As vice president, Commissioner Lockfaw shall assume the duties of the president in Commissioner Bunting’s absence.

For more information about the County Commissioners, please contact Kim Moses, public information officer at (410) 632-1194.