Washington County Commissioners Take Oath of Office

On Tuesday, December 2, 2014, Washington County commissioners were sworn into office and quickly got to work.

Herald Mail Media reports

Administrative Circuit Judge M. Kenneth Long Jr. presided over the ceremony, as Washington County Clerk of the Circuit Court Dennis Weaver administered the oath of office to each of the five commissioners, including incumbents Terry L. Baker, Jeffrey A. Cline and John F. Barr, as well as former state Del. LeRoy E. Myers Jr. and former three-term commissioner, William J. Wivell.

“It’s always a special moment when you get sworn in, and you’re taking an oath for public office,” said Baker, who, as the top vote-getter in the Nov. 4 election, will serve again as president of the board. “… I think everyone’s eager. I think everyone’s excited … and I think it’s going to be a really, really outstanding four years.”

After receiving the second-most votes in the election, Cline will serve as vice president of the board.

Soon after the festivities concluded, the new commission met for about an hour.

The commissioners unanimously approved retaining Gregory B. Murray as county administrator, Debra Murray as chief financial officer and Vicki C. Lumm as county clerk.

To read the full story about the swearing in of the Washington County Commissioners, visit HeraldMailMedia.com.

Close Menu
%d bloggers like this: