House GOP Caucus Taps New Leaders Kipke, Szeliga

The Maryland House of Delegates’ Minority Caucus, including 43 republican representatives in the chamber, has elected new leadership for the year ahead. Delegate Nicholaus Kipke of Anne Arundel County will serve as the Minority Leaders, and Delegate Kathy Szeliga, who represents a district including parts of Harford and Baltimore Counties, will serve as the new Minority Whip.

From coverage in the Gazette:

Kipke said he plans greater outreach out to center-right organizations throughout the state, such as Americans for Prosperity, Change Maryland and the various Republican central committees around the state, to broaden the Republican support.

“We’re going to ask them to help us be messengers to those voters who don’t necessarily follow politics,” Kipke said.

Kipke has served in the General Assembly since 2007; Szeliga since 2011.

Read the Gazette‘s full story online.

Michael Sanderson

Executive Director Maryland Association of Counties