Drought Disaster Declaration Sought For 13 Maryland Counties

As Maryland faces longstanding and serious weather impacts from droughts this summer, the Governor has petitioned the US Department of Agriculture for a formal declaration of disaster affecting 13 Maryland counties. From AP coverage in the Washington Post:

The request covers Dorchester, Somerset, Calvert, Kent, Talbot, Caroline, Wicomico, Cecil, and Queen Anne’s counties on the Eastern Shore. Anne Arundel, Charles, Calvert and Prince George’s counties are also included. State officials say rainfall has been 70 percent of normal since the end of January.

The formal designation would enable federal assistance to farmers and other affected stakeholders in the subject area.

Michael Sanderson

Executive Director Maryland Association of Counties

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.