Mixed Results for County Officials Running for Other Positions

County officials who ran for other elected positions saw mixed results in the primary contests.  Anne Arundel County Council Member and MACo Second Vice President Cathy Vitale won one of two Republican primary slots in the House of Delegates race in District 33A.  Baltimore County Member Kevin Kamenetz has won the democratic primary for county executive, prevailing over fellow Council Member Joseph Bartenfelder.  The Baltimore County Executive position is open because the current executive, Jim Smith, is term-limited.

Queen Anne’s County Commissioner Eric Wargotz prevailed over a crowded republican field to win the right to challenge U.S. Senator Barbara Mikulski.  Somerset County Commission President Michael McCready won the democratic primary for House of Delegates, District 38A.  The district has an open seat because of the passing of Page Elmore.  Page’s wife, Carolyn, is serving the remainder of his term.  McCready will face Charles James Otto in the general election.

Other county officials did not fare as well.  Caroline County Commission Vice President Roger Layton appears to have lost in his bid to become the republican contender for county sheriff by being edged out by George Bacorn.  Charles County Commissioner Gary Hodge failed to capture a democratic primary slot in the House of Delegates race for District 28.  Incumbents Peter Murphy and Sally Jameson both won the primary, with a third seat being open due to the retirement of Murray Levy.  Frederick County Commissioner John “Lennie” Thompson also failed in his attempt to earn a republican primary spot in the House of Delegates race for District 4A.  [ed. revised September 16 based on updated results] Incumbent Paul Stull apparently also was defeated in that race, as Kathy Afzali and Kelly Schulz are the projected winners (though the margin between Schulz and Stull appears to be very close)

Rushern Baker appears to have captured the democratic primary for Prince George’s County Executive, beating Prince George’s County Council Member Samuel Dean.  Washington County Commissioner William Wivell failed to unseat incumbent Andrew Serafini in the republican primary for House of Delegates, District 2A.  Finally, Wicomico County Council President John Cannon lost the republican primary for House of Delegates, District 38A.

This Post Has One Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Close Menu
%d bloggers like this: